Another 12 Collaborative Research Centres (CRCs) supported by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft /DFG), the central public funding body for research in Germany, will start operating at universities across the country from 1 July 2010.

The new CRCs hosted by universities in Berlin, Bochum, Erlangen-Nuremberg, Giessen, Göttingen, Hanover, Heidelberg, Kiel and Münster will have initial funding of €112 million in total – including a 20% programme allowance for indirect project costs – for a four-year period, as determined by the DFG’s Grants Committee at its spring meeting in Bonn.

Five of the collaborative initiatives are Transregional CRCs distributed across a number of research sites, including a cross-frontier effort involving the Erasmus University Medical Centre in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

Medical research topics addressed by the new CRCs range from the mechanisms of pathogen attacks and host defence in pneumonia to understanding the molecular function of chromatin and decoding the differentiation of adult stem cells.

The Grants Committee also agreed at its spring meeting to extend funding of 11 CRCs for a second four-year period. As of July 2010l the DFG will be funding 241 Collaborative Research Centres in all.