Six pharmacists from England, Scotland and Wales have been crowned winners at the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry’s annual Pharmacy Awards.

The Awards, now in their third year, were established to recognise and celebrate pharmacists at the forefront of improving patient care. As a spokesman for the ABPI explained to PharmaTimes UK News: "The pharmaceutical industry believes that pharmacists have a vital role to play in providing first class healthcare to patients, and these awards are an excellent way of recognising and encouraging this."

Pharmacists leading the pack were able to demonstrate: an innovative practice that has improved the use of medicines; significant improvements in the quality of prescribing, dispensing or administering services; and service developments ensuring access to high-quality care and medicines, the ABPI said.

“The winners of this year’s award reflect the efforts of pharmacy teams

working to improve patient experience responding to a range of very

different challenges and healthcare settings,” explained Martin Anderson,

Director of National Health Service Policy and Partnerships at the Institute.

Top of the class

The 2007 winners, as judged by panels of senior NHS professionals and the ABPI, are: David Gill, Head of Pharmacy, Angus Community Health Partnership; Alison Foster, Senior Pharmacist, NHS Ayrshire and Arran; Scott Pegler, Medicines Information Pharmacist, Swansea NHS Trust; Sheila Brown, Prescribing Adviser, Eastern and Coastal Kent PCT; Dr Paul Deslandes, Pharmacy Department, NHS Cardiff and Vale; Linda Ferguson, Business Development Manager, Manor Pharmacy, Ilkeston.

The six winners will each receive free tickets to this year’s British Pharmaceutical Conference at Manchester.