Professor Amanda Howe has been elected as the next President of the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) following a national ballot of its membership.

She will take over the post from Professor Mayur Lakhani, who will demit office at the College’s Annual General Meeting in November, after completing his two-year term.

RCGP chief operating officer and college returning officer Dr Valerie Vaughan-Dick said: “Congratulations to Amanda, and many thanks to the other six candidates who stood for the role of RCGP President. It was a truly fair and open contest.

“Amanda brings a wealth of experience of the College, academic primary care and frontline general practice. We very much look forward to working with her.”

The role was contested by seven College members: Professor Rodger Charlton; Dr John Chisholm; Dr Sunil Gupta; Professor Amanda Howe; Professor Roger Jones; Dr Imran Rafi; and Dr Carter Singh.