How it works

Comprising of three stages, the PharmaTimes International Clinical Researcher of the Year competition is free to enter and is open to all levels of clinical researchers working within the pharmaceutical industry. The competition recognises and rewards the hard work of clinical researchers from all over the globe, and culminates at a grand gala dinner and awards ceremony

Stage 1:

September 2022 until January 2023

This is an online multiple-choice questionnaire prepared by the Institute of Clinical Research (ICR) consisting of 20 questions based on ICH/GCP questions. The pass mark to move forward to Stage 3 is 80%. One re-take is allowed.

Stage 2:

September 2022 until January 2023

Successful candidates from stage one are invited to complete a category specific 'Clinical Challenge' devised by the competition's Executive Steering Group.

PharmaTimes Media sends all of the entries to the judges without telling them who they have been submitted by.

The authors and the companies they work for are only revealed at a special meeting of the executive steering group  – in what is often referred to as ‘the unblinding meeting’.

The top performers are then invited to compete in the finals (Stage 3).

Stage 3: The Finals

March 2023

No preparation is required prior to the finals. Judges are drawn from the competition steering group – and entrants are only judged by people from outside their own organisation.

All finalists receive valuable mentoring and feedback on individual performance from the senior clinical judging panel together with a signed certificate.

Gala Dinner and Awards

May 2023

The winners will be announced at the live awards (TBC venue)

If you have any questions about the competition, categories, or the awards ceremony then please contact Luci Sargood -


Key dates

Entry Opens
Entry Closes
Singles Finals Day
Team Finals Day
Awards Event
Clinical Researcher of the Year - The Americas