PharmaTimes Media recognised top clinical researchers with a spectacular awards ceremony at the Lancaster London last night.

On Thursday 12 May, hundreds of senior industry professionals gathered in London for an awards ceremony and gala dinner celebrating the achievements of international clinical researchers.

The annual International Clinical Researcher of the Year competition, organised by PharmaTimes Media, provides a unique opportunity for clinical researchers from all over the world to benchmark their competencies and skills against their peers in an international learning environment. The competition allows finalists to present to a panel of senior industry judges and receive valuable mentoring and feedback on their individual or team performance. Designed and judged by an independent steering committee of high-level industry leaders, the International Clinical Researcher of the Year has categories for clinical researchers and teams at all stages of their career.

With candidates spanning 38 countries, the 2016 edition of this prestigious competition represented a truly international learning and development opportunity for entrants. Gill Chalk, head of events at PharmaTimes, commented: "A highly coveted Pharma award is an independent stamp of endorsement, indicating excellence in your field. Taking part in the Finals is a fantastic achievement so I would like to congratulate all the finalists, and say thank you to our sponsors for all their invaluable support. We are looking forward to developing the competition for 2017."

The winners for 2016 are…

NHS Clinical Research Site 

Bronze: Nicholas Aldridge, Katie Bruce and Becky Chadwick, University Hospitals Coventry & Warwickshire

Silver: Jane Rush, Julie Jones and Sue Hewins, University Hospitals Coventry & Warwickshire

Winner: Simon Kaye & Steve Woby, The Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Trust   

Clinical Trial Administrator 

Bronze: Ingrid Depreytere-Orth, PRA Health Sciences

Silver: James Battisti, PRA Health Sciences

Winner: Irina Teslenko, PRA Health Sciences   

Aspiring Clinical Research Associate 

Bronze: Sarah Day, The Clinical Trial Company

Silver: Yong Moon Lee, PRA Health Sciences

Winner: Olivia Frank, Cancer Research UK  

Clinical Research Associate  

Bronze: Lara Edmondson, PRA Health Sciences

Silver: Rachel Smith, The Clinical Trial Company

Winner: Victoria Berry, Quintiles  

Project Manager 

Bronze: Diana Villanueva Jehasse, OPIS Spain

Silver: Gisbert Dues, PRA Health Sciences

Winner: Petra Croon, PRA Health Sciences 

Team Leader 

Bronze: Jane Karsten, PRA Health Sciences

Silver: Barbara Hepworth-Jones, Roche Products

Winner: Rachel Oakley, INC Research 

Strategic Partnership Team  

Silver: PSI CRO & BioMarin – Sarah Eastty, PSI CRO; Nigel Smeeton, PSI CRO; Ola Adamson, BioMarin; Denis Mir, BioMarin

Winner: PRA Health Sciences & Bayer – Nicole Duffe, PRA Health Sciences; Kish Kha, PRA Health Sciences; Keith Franci, Bayer; Nick Lewis, Bayer

Clinical Research Team  

Bronze: INC Research – Ignacio Alonso; Bruce Dawkins; James Martin; Aisha Rahman; Louise Smith

Silver: PSI CRO – Nicola Adey; Kiri Alford; Paula Matthews; Nikita Mistry; Katie Proctor

Winner: PPD – Jenifer Cameron; Chris Mason; Rachael Naismith; Neil Watson 

Clinical Research Company of the Year  

The following companies were considered for this title:

  • INC Research
  • PPD
  • PRA Health Sciences
  • Quintiles
  • The Clinical Trial Company

Winner: PRA Health Sciences 

PharmaTimes would like to thank all the sponsors and supporters of the International Clinical Researcher of the Year.

Sponsors: PRA Health Sciences, Chiltern, ABPI, Department of Health, Institute of Clinical Research, Novo Nordisk, PSI, PI Partnership and PPD

Supporters: Allergan, Bayer, BMS, Boehringer Ingelheim, Covance, Innocoll, Jackie Powell, MSD, Novo Nordisk, Pfizer, Roche, Takeda and Vectura