Sabina Syed, managing director, Visions4Health and co-chair of the executive steering committee comments: "This year we have had a tremendous response to entries into the competition for ALL categories. More entrants and breadth of companies than in the last two years! I am looking forward to the finals."

This year’s competition has attracted entries from a wide range of companies, including Galderma, Novo Nordisk, Grunenthal, Lundbeck, Celgene, Shire, Eisai Europe, MSD, Bristol - Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals, Bayer, AbbVie and Novartis to name just a few.

The individual and team finals days will take place at QuintilesIMS, in Reading on the 5 and 18 October respectively.

Nicola St. Paul, now an international marketing manager at Bio Products Laboratory (BPL), was awarded 'Senior Marketer of the Year’ in 2016. Speaking exclusively to PharmaTimes, she says: “I entered the field of marketing following a number of years in GP and hospital sales roles and was keen to make my mark. I had worked my way from a product manager to a senior role and wanted to pit myself against my peers from other companies and most importantly receive valuable developmental feedback to become a more improved marketer. By entering the 2016 competition I gained all of this and more.”

Communications Team of the Year

Due to unprecedented demand the International Challenge was fully booked nearly a month ahead of schedule. It was only a matter of time before the NHS Challenge followed suit, with organiser PharmaTimes Media declaring the competition officially ‘closed for entry’ on 18 August.

PharmaTimes business manager and competition lead Anna Yeardley comments: “The response to the 2017 event has just been phenomenal. Not only have we had to close entries ahead of the September 1 deadline, we actually had to make space to accommodate more teams as we were so oversubscribed.

“With so much interest in the competition – we hope to allow for even more teams to take part next year, so if you missed the boat this time, we look forward to seeing you in 2018.”

Companies entered for 2017 include inVentiv Health Communications, Publicis Resolute, Aurora Healthcare Communications, Hanover, Porterhouse Medical, Axon, Synergy Vision, Edelman, Hayward Medical Communications, Grace Communications, WA Communications and Pegasus.

The finals day will take place at QuintilesIMS in Reading on 12 October.

The Awards

Every year, the PharmaTimes Marketer of the Year awards dinner attracts hundreds of top level industry professionals. Representatives from major pharma companies gather to celebrate the next generation of pharma marketing and communication specialists, to network, and to entertain key clients.

Tickets include a drinks reception; three-course meal; pre- dinner speaker; guest host and after dinner networking. The dress code is black tie.

Book now and take advantage of the early bird rate (valid until 6 October).  A table of 10 is priced at £3,150 (plus VAT); single seats £315 (plus VAT). Tables of 12 are also available on request.

There are a number of exclusive sponsorship opportunities at the awards ceremony and gala dinner on the 9 November in London. “The exposure and profile generated for sponsoring organisations is second to none,” says PharmaTimes business manager and Marketer of the Year competition lead, Luci Chalk, adding: “Premium, Silver and Bronze packages are available, in addition to a number of ‘on the night’ opportunities to suit a range of budgets.”

Book your tickets HERE.

For more information contact Luci Chalk or Anna Yeardley on +44 (0) 207 2406999, email and

In the meantime, keep up to date with all the latest news at