PharmaTimes has seen a record number of entries for its latest US Clinical Researcher of the Year awards, to be held on 7 November in Cary, North Carolina.

Among the global pharmaceutical companies and contract research organisations pitching for this year’s prizes are AbbVie, GlaxoSmithKline, Lilly, Covance, Icon, INC Research, inVentiv Health Clinical, Parexel, PPD and PRA International.

The US Clinical Researcher of the Year competition is a unique competency-based programme in which researchers compete head to head in a real-life challenge devised by US clinical directors from companies such as GSK, Sanofi, AstraZeneca, Alcon, Shire, MSD and Endo Pharmaceuticals.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for clinical research to showcase their most talented people,” commented Carol Parish, senior director, clinical development, and head EU and EMAP at Stiefel, a GSK company.

Collaborative effort

Sean Morgan-Jones, PharmaTimes director and chair of the competition’s executive steering committee, put the record response down to the “outstanding collaborative effort” of the pharmaceutical companies and sponsoring CROs on the steering committee, as well as partnerships developed with the Association of Clinical Research Professionals, CenterWatch and the Society of Clinical Research Sites, which have helped to promote engagement with their communities.

The finals day will be held on 7 November, 2013 at the global headquarters of finals hosts SAS in Cary, North Carolina.

To provide additional development opportunities, special workshops on topics such as the use of social media to assist patient recruitment and engagement have been organised this year for the finalists and guests.

The winners of the US Clinical Researcher of the Year awards will be announced on the evening of 7 November at the Umsted Hotel in Cary.

Limited opportunities for sponsorship and a few tickets are still available. To book tickets, go to; or to discuss sponsorship opportunities, contact Donna Lee Randall on +44(0)20-8487-9105 or