Shire has claimed the title of pharmaceutical company of the year at the prestigious PharmaTimes Marketer and Communications Team awards, the results of which were announced in London earlier this evening (November 27).

Shire was also successful in other categories, scooping the Cross-Functional Team of the Year (the ‘Emerald’ team), while Renate Specht Gryp was named International Marketer of the Year. Shire’s Emma Gulliver took home the Aspiring Marketer of the Year award.

New Marketer of the Year went to Steven Brewerton of Biogen Idec, while Brand Manager of the Year was won by Lundbeck’s Adam Chapman. Other winners on the night were Tamara Barghout (Novartis) for Aspiring Marketing Manager of the Year and Bayer’s Priya Narayan for Senior UK Marketer.

The UK Communications Team of the Year title for 2014 was won by Just:: Health, while International Communications Team of the Year was awarded to Synergy Vision.

The event marked the 21st anniversary of the PharmaTimes Marketer of the Year awards, which are designed and run by some of the best marketers and healthcare leaders in pharma. These include the senior managers, directors and heads of marketing from companies such as AbbVie, Actelion, AstraZeneca, Bayer, Eisai, Eli Lilly, GlaxoSmithKline, Lundbeck, Merck Serono, Novartis, Roche, Servier and Shire.

This year’s finalists represented 33 different pharmaceutical companies and healthcare communications agencies from across the industry.

PharmaTimes would like to thank our sponsors Ashfield Healthcare, Binley’s, Chase, Dark Horse Agency, Hayward Medical Communications, Oberoi Consulting, PI Partnership, Quintiles, Star, STEM Marketing and Redbow Consulting for all their support.